2019 Elections: List of lawmakers who are not returning to Senate

As most Nigerian politicians are now up for one political ambition or the other it is important to give a view to the shape that 2019 elections is

2019 elections
2019 elections

As  most  Nigerian politicians are now up for one political ambition or the other it is important to give a view to  the shape that  2019 elections is taking especially as regard those senators that are leaving the National  Assembly and those that are aspiring to retain their seat after the most anticipated 2019 elections.

As gathered by newsfeed.ng, INEC has released the list which indicates that 68 out of 109 Senators  have secured their parties’ return ticket. However, 41 Senators lost the return ticket in their various parties while 6 of them refused to contest for return tickets due to their ambition to run for governorship having secured their governorship tickets. And some few others did not seek re-election.

As released by INEC, those senators that are contesting for governorship in their respective states include

Senator Jeremiah Useni (PDP,Plateau)

John Owan-Enoh (APC, Cross River)

Sunny Ogbouji (APC, Ebonyi)

Usman Bayero Nafada (PDP, Gombe)

Hope Uzodinma (APC, Imo)

Abdulaziz Nyako (ADC, Adamawa)

However, those governors who got tickets to contest for the senate in 2019 elections are

Kashim Shettima (Borno)

Ibrahim Dakwambo (Gombe)

Rochas Okorocha (Imo)

Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara)

Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo)

Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun)

Ibrahim Geidam (Yobe)

Watch how PDP Campaign stage collaped during campaign

Although Governor  Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara State recently dropped his ambition to contest for senator  which now make them five (5) in number as governors who are contesting for senatorial office.

And as for the serving senators who are not returning are five former governors who are as below:

Ahmed Sani Yarima (Zamfara)

Bukar Abba Ibrahim (Yobe)

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso (Kano)

Joshua Dariya (Plateau)

Jonah David Jang (Plateau)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here